top of page

Precepts & Observances


The life at Cittaviveka is held within an ethical framework, which visitors and guests are expected to follow while they are here. This centres on the Eight Precepts:

The Eight Precepts

  1. Harmlessness: not intentionally taking the life of any living creature

  2. Trustworthiness: not taking anything that is not given

  3. Celibacy: refraining from any sexual activity

  4. Veracity: avoiding false, abusive or malicious speech

  5. Sobriety: not taking any intoxicating drink or drug

  6. Renunciation: not eating after mid-day

  7. Restraint: Refraining from entertainment, beautification and adornment this  includes: using mobile devices for entertainment, playing musical instruments and refraining from self adornment with jewellery and revealing clothes.

  8. Alertness: to refrain from over-indulgence in sleep

These precepts are intended to moderate our outgoing tendencies, to heighten the sense of conscience and concern for others, and to encourage alertness. There are also a range of observances around maintaining quiet in the House, using the lodgings and requisites with care, and dressing in a simple way. These also help to check casual or half-aware actions that we may carry out daily without really questioning them. Precepts and observances therefore form a framework for contemplation, a guide to cultivating heart and mind, and a means for daily-life Awakening. The Guest Monk or Nun can advise you on the basic standards. 

bottom of page